Arvin in Clay

I took a two day sculpture class from teacher Trish Harding a number of years ago. The object was to make a bust of someone we knew. I chose Arvin and this was the result. His actual shoulders were not that big but I think I got a pretty good likeness of his face. We only bisque fired our pieces and some folks waxed or painted theirs. I liked mine as you see it.

I decided to use the sculpture as a focal point of the display on my built in bookcase and there he sits. Every time I pass him I feel a closeness and sometimes I even say a few words to him. It feels like he lives here too, in spirit at least. I like that feeling.

By the way, the canon in the shelf below him is the one made from scratch, every single bit of it. He was quite a guy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.