Iron Annie

First of all a very BIG THANK YOU to all those Blipers who looked by and commented yesterday. I am an unworthy Bliper for such kind words, especially this year, and while I haven't been commenting myself as I would like to, I still find the time to look through your journals and get myself updated. I am after 2000 entries and some 6 years of stop/go blipping waiting for the first negative post/reaction/comment - a record I suspect which is unique on a social networking site. So thank you Blip and thus all of us who make it what it is.

Yesterday evening, I heard the very deep drone of aircraft engines close to the house but due to the forest, couldn't see where it was coming from. This continued today and then suddenly it occurred to me that it was probably the Lufthansa sponsored charitable trust who tour Germany for the good weather season with their 1936 Junkers Ju52 and offer short sightseeing flights. Known as "Tante Ju"  (Auntie Ju) here, she spent several years in the USA where she was known as "Iron Annie". One has to thank an American enthusiast for rescuing her from rotting away in South America and restoring her.

As one does nowadays, looked up on the web and sure enough, she arrived last night and is spending the day flying the 30 minutes from Memmingen down to the edge of the Alps and over the castles near Füssen where Nogbad and I were 10 days ago.

At lunchtime, I did get a brief glimpse from the terrace and a few distant photos but thought I ought to try better, especially for Bliper Angelique's son Mathew who is enjoying a week at home and with his aunt Bliper Red Flash.

So for the last circle flight, I drove up to the top of a hill overlooking the airport, watched her take off but away from me. Then a 30-minute walk with Flash before seeing her return but sadly still at a distance which made it difficult to photograph, added to which I was facing into the sun.

I had tried to track her on an App but while the registration appears, the flight history is not shown and during the flights, does not appear on the live screen. However, for next year, I now know she returns flying over Ottobeuren and will be prepared. Sorry Mathew, have to wait another year!

Yesterday I should have mentioned that when I picked Nigel up 10 days ago, he greeted me with an early birthday present - a large chunk of Tesco's Cheddar Cheese and a box of Yorkshire Tea. I could have used his expertise today - A member of the RSPB and a keen Bliper of older military aircraft that once flew over his adopted Kent. He might be able to shed more light on today's photo. In extra photos a collage of the mechanical bird.

PS The news came through on the car radio while returning home from the photoshoot that the EU has given the all-clear for Memmingen Airport to be modernised. It has a very long runway, long enough for big jets but too narrow and no separate taxiway. At the moment it has a dreadful safety rating because of this but frankly with a maximum of 10 arrivals and 10 departures a day, hardly an issue. Widening should be completed by the end of 2018.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.