Power of Blip

I see that today's Blip entry will be my 2000th, having started on 21st February 2011 thanks to my good friend Nogbad who started on 29th May 2010. My profile, written back in 2011, mentions my homesickness for UK supermarkets and as the few (probably just me) poor Blipers who have read my journal blurb over the last 6 years will know, I often criticise the UK for not getting their products on to the German supermarket shelves, and the UK supermarket companies not getting in to the German market. My favourite quoted example foodstuff has always been cheese, in particular, cheddar.

Well, last night I got a message from MrsB who always looks after my well being in matters of food and beverage. "A very good cheddar on offer in the Ottobeuren REWE supermarket". As I was planning a trip to Ottobeuren to pick up some bits and do the morning dog walk, I headed for the supermarket.

REWE I suspect has been reading my Blip over the years as they have made enormous strides forward in improving the quality of their stores and products. Like their big rival Edeka, they are a so-called Full Selection national supermarket chain as opposed to the discounters Aldi, Lidl, Penny, Norma and co. Basic and everyday items are sold at discounter prices under own brand names, but otherwise, they are generally a bit more expensive for the better/brand name products.

So at first, I checked out the mass of products in the upright cool cabinets. Apart from the Kerrygold Irish cheddar (3rd cabinet from left, top row, 3rd from left) they have had for the past year or two, nothing remotely British to be seen. However I know MrsB to be a very reliable informant, so moved further to some of the cooled chest displays and BINGO there it was:

Cathedral City Cheddar - Matured for 14 months - Strong and Tangy.. 12.50€/kg in 200g block. Considering the same brand costs about £9 (10€) in Tescos, really not an outrageous price. The German wording on the packet is 1:1 the same as in the UK.

There were two left and I suspect when full, the space held perhaps five. Not wanting to deprive a German of the taste experience, I only took one. But then as I leant forward to grab it, I saw hidden on the front edge "Heart of England Blue Stilton" in a 125g triangle. Totally blown over despite the 21.52€/kg price, about double what I guess one pays in the UK.

Further research has revealed the Stilton brand is from an Ilchester, Somerset based company Norseland who say they are the "#1 British Blended Cheese Supplier". I'll take their word on that. I have actually once had Stilton in Germany when Angie bought me some from Munich's wonderful open-air  Viktualienmarkt which Nogbad visited last week but sadly didn't post a Blip of.

I did after the REWE visit go to the discounter Norma around the corner. They have been selling Kerrygold longer than REWE and for the last few weeks, blocks and slices of mild and mature Cheddar for under 8€/kg and that is full price against the discounted REWE offer.


So if you ever meet the Blip doubters, just show them this journal entry. Blip is changing the face of the German Food Chain and as an immigrant in this country, I can claim to have single-handily made a positive mark on upgrading the standards of the supermarkets and introducing an entire nation to the delights of UK cheese.

My thanks to Nogbad for introducing me to Blip and MrsB for making a magical 2000th Blip possible. Despite reaching the ultimate taste bud goal, I still plan to keep boring Blipers for a while to come.

Thanks also to all the unnamed Blipers who pass by and make this site so wonderful.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.