Thanks Tuesday

Way back some time in the last 366 days, I had a birthday and now want to thank all those who kindly posted, some via the various social networks and others with the good old mail services of their various countries. Very special of course, the cards and drawings from the grandchildren. Thank you all so very much.One present was personally delivered, as always beautifully wrapped, by Mr&MrsB - a set of 4 eggcups with a British motive. No doubt made in China put the box was covered with drawings of Tower Bridge, London Eye, St. Pauls. I will enjoy bashing the eggs on the head and then decapitating them. Thank you for the organic "punch bags" .The eggs are ours and discovered today with another 6 in a corner of one of the horses stalls. Had wondered the last two days why we had so few eggs. Think it's time to make a bottle of advocaat and a batch of meringues.

Great news arrived shortly after midnight and gave me a fabulous start to the day. I have deliberately been avoiding pestering my first girlfriend from the mid 70s whose husband was diagnosed with Myeloma at the beginning of the year.  ??? Myeloma ???


Annie is no fan of digital communication and I told her not to bother with corresponding but concentrate on getting Richard fit. But now 6 months down the treatment route and no news I was getting concerned. At midnight of 3/4th September I even messaged someone I had found on Facebook who just might be someone with knowledge - a girl I last saw when Annie and I attended her 21st birthday party on 4th September 1976 but had no doubt married and with a new surname. I only had a forename and the county she grew up in and the little info on Facebook included a probably 50 year old B&W photo which made me sure it was her. No news yet received but also asked for help from a young Myeloma patient I had digitally got to know in the course of research, Pep.

I think Pep must have sent out some of her chemo packed vibes as a long email from Annie arrived at 1:37 today and had a very positive tone. Richard has got through the first 6 month stage of pill popping well and is about to embark on what Pep translated for me to be own cell, Stem Cell Transplant. Pep herself has recently been through the step after that, donated cell Stem Cell Transplant and despite all her own troubles is an amazing and admirable example of courage and help to others. Just as she took the time to answer with great friendliness and humour my initial dumb questions, I see her on the Myeloma UK Facebook group constantly giving support and help to other sufferers and their families. Pep you are a great young example for us all.

Ironically it was Richard who just last summer, when he was suffering from dreadful backache (thinking he had overdone garden work but it was the undiagnosed Myeloma), got Annie to find out how I was as I hadn't written for some time,  So I guess I should have contacted her many months ago instead of sending off strange messages to probably confused people enjoying a birthday party, or taking up the time of others with better things to do. However thanks Mrs Unknown and Pep.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.