Castle surprises

I ticked off another local sight that I have to visit before I move away;  Tonbridge Castle - perfect for a rainy afternoon.
The castle was full of surprises. Firstly I had no idea that  handmade cricket ball manufacturing  was one of Tonbridge's oldest industries.  The display in the castle claims that all the best balls came from this area.  Dukes and Gray Nicholls  being 2 firms even I have heard of. Others are John Wisden and Stuart Surridge  for any cricket fans reading this. By the 1960s  competition from Pakistan had caused them to merge to form one company  The balls are not made here anymore but the Duke's current website  acknowledges its heritage. 
The second surprise was that I could go up onto the roof. The extra is shot  from the roof of the gatehouse looking towards the motte. Here is a shot I took a while ago from the motte to the gatehouse on a much sunnier day 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.