HERITAGE OPEN DAY

Its Heritage Open Day time again.  As I have been on quite a few of the tours in previous years there were only two I was interested in this year.  One today and one tomorrow.

Todays tour was of The Old Post Office in Newcastle.  You can see it top right of my collage.  It was built 1871-1874 and closed in the late 1990s when Royal Mail restructured. It is now used as offices of the NBS division of the Royal Institute of British Architects, who renovated the building. The building is Grade II listed.

I have personal memories of the building which wasn't far from where I worked in Newcastle.  When I started work I had to take on the tasks of the " Junior ".  The main postal duties were performed by a couple of old gentlemen who were in charge of our " Post Room".  They would go around the different departments collecting all the letters, frank them and put them in big sacks for the Post Office to collect. Letters which were to be sent by Recorded Delivery were put to one side and I would collect them and take them to the Post Office on my way home from work.  I couldn't leave the office until 5pm and there was usually a long queue at the Post Office ( all the " Juniors " from other places would be there with their post) so I would often be late home. I was glad when someone new started and they could take over this duty.

It was an interesting tour.  Even though the building has been renovated and is now  a very modern office space they have kept a lot of original features.  We went up on to the roof garden - and cup cakes were handed out.  How could I resist?  The roof garden is the top left shot of my collage. You can see the top of St Nicholas Cathedral in the background.

Another shot of the Cathedral can also be seen in my collage.  The trio having a " Fag Break " outside it caught my eye and I just had to take a shot.

After the tour I mooched around town and did some shopping.  3 pairs of earrings were bought - as well as fruit and cat food.

The weather was rainy this morning - then fine while I was out - then rainy again this evening.

Steps today - 12,412

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.