Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Raining petals

The tea-garden area of Benmore Gardens (I don't know what else to call it - the outdoor area where there are tables, umbrellas and plants for sale) late this wet afternoon looked as if it had been raining flower petals as the tall flowering tree off to the left was stripped of most of its blossom. This was taken at about 4.30 in the afternoon, and on a fine day there would have been people still sitting over tea and cakes, but today the chairs were tilted to avoid puddles on their seats and the shop and cafe more or less deserted. 

I'm adding the only other photo I took today, showing that the gardens themselves are always beautiful in themselves, even under persistent rain. The grass, and later the moss, was bright enough to give the illusion of light, and I like the way the autumnal tree warms the scene like a fire.

I'd love some late summer sunshine, though ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.