TEN GREEN BOTTLES HANGING ON THE WALL.....

…..and, in total, if nine green bottles…..should accidentally fall…..

…..there’ll be ONE green bottle hanging on the wall!

I defy anyone who sang this song as a child NOT to enjoy singing along with this and, like me, I'm sure you will have the tune in your brain all day long!

I’m sure most of us Blippers see things and often think “I could use that as a Blip at some point!”  This is what happened when I finished the olive oil that was originally in this green bottle, so it has been sitting on my kitchen worktop, waiting for its 15 minutes of fame on Blip and today is the day - Silly Saturday, hosted so well by Admirer.

I wasn’t sure whether those who follow me from other parts of the world would know this song, so searched for it on Youtube.  Mr. HCB put his hands over his ears after I had played so many different versions of the song, which helps youngsters to count backwards from ten - I hope you all enjoy singing along, but you will get the gist and I doubt you will play it to the very end!

In fact, we used to sing it a little differently at the end - we finished it like this:

“And if one green bottle should accidentally fall, 
there’ll be nothing but the smell, hanging on the wall.”

Whilst looking for a quote about bottles for today, I found this:

TIME OUT BOTTLES

Fill a bottle three quarters full with water,
     add one bottle of glitter glue 
          and ultra fine glitter.
Then send this bottle with your child 
     to timeout - 
          they can watch it settle 
               to calm them.
Once the glitter is settled, 
     their time is up!

It sounds wonderful - but if our younger son had been put in timeout (and apologies to you,) I don’t think the bottle would have remained intact - in fact, we would probably have ended up with a gluey, glittery carpet, with footsteps all over the house and up the stairs - now that would be silly!  Meanwhile, our older son would probably have been working out how and why it happened!

Thinking about it, perhaps Lava lamps were invented to calm grown-ups!

P.S.  I was out in the garden in my pink robe and flip-flops - and I will explain all to my neighbours in due course - in fact, I'm sure Lynn (and perhaps even Mike) will be singing along!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.