Happy Birthday Dad!

Dear Diary,

Beginning and ending the week with old photographs of my dad.  He would have been 99 today had he lived.  This is a photograph of him at 18, in 1936, with his older sister Stella. My dad was quite the dresser back in the day and I think he looks smashing in his three piece suit.  He hadn't started to wear glasses yet but he still has that wonderful smile.

I guess it doesn't matter how long a parent has been dead, you still think of them as very close to you...as if they have just stepped out of the room for a minute.  Or, in my dad's case, gone downstairs to his workshop in the basement.  He could make anything and I was always in awe of his talents.


It is one of the great ironies of life that we never fully appreciate a person until they are gone.  After our grandparents and parents leave us we sometimes feel a sense of abandonment.  It seems such an unnatural state even years later but we go on and eventually we become their best intentions for us if we are lucky.  I often thought that we struggle our whole lives to distance ourselves from our parents only to find we end our lives desperately wanting to reconnect.  Thank you Dad...I still remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.