Forth Bridges

The weather turns out better than expected but, on the forecast we had, we had decided to go to Decathlon and IKEA in Edinburgh with a parkrun on the way and a walk afterwards, rather than kayaking. This entailed going over the new Queensferry Crossing twice.
Parkrun was a first time at Dunfermline, a very up and down 3 laps course but I managed to get my fastest time of the year despite legs still being tired from Thursday. Then over the bridge for the shopping (sports stuff and bits and pieces, mainly for other people, from IKEA where we also had lunch).
Then a short drive to Hillend and a walk up Caerketton and Allermuir for the great views of Edinburgh - and a rainbow (extra) - before returning home.
The traffic was slow approaching the bridge, it nearly always is on that stretch, but that gave me the chance to get some photos, such as above, and the ones making up the collage (which includes one from the hill showing the setting). A very elegant bridge and it will be examined from other angles, I'm sure. This is the only place where you can see bridges built in 3 different centuries side-by-side, the new bridge is the longest of its type and I'm sure there's some other record I can't remember! (and I think it came in under budget though a bit late)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.