The Whale

Please look large to see the finer detail!

Words to come.....

A fantastic and very full day in London! I caught an early train, so arrived just after 10am, heading straight for the Natural History Museum to photograph the whale - my logic being that it would be less busy than usual as the children would have gone back to school and it being too early in the term for school trips to have been organised. It seems a lot of other people thought the same way as I did! :) I only had to queue for a relatively short time in the rain though. 

From the museum I headed to City Hall near Tower Bridge because I've only just discovered that the public can access certain parts of it and it has some interesting architecture to photograph, so more fun with my fisheye! It's a bit of a walk to get there from the tube at the Tower across Tower Bridge and it was belting with rain. Fortunately I had an umbrella and a huge, bright yellow plastic poncho that covered me, my backpack and my camera bag - I must have looked quite a sight!

City Hall well and truly photograph, the rain had abated some, so I took shots around the area with all its gorgeous tall buildings with shiny reflective walls - wonderful.

Next up was a trip to Kings Cross because I've never seen the wonderful mushroom shaped ceiling. More photos taken and, of course, some of the coloured walkway on the way to the tube.

And finally Covent Garden, where I met up with my son's girlfriend, enjoying a lovely meal together and lots of chat before going to watch 'La Bohème' at the Royal Opera House. It was a fantastic production and there was just enough time afterwards to meet up with my son for a quick drink before heading back to the train station. Home at 1am - exhausted!!!

Loads of photos I'd love to share with you but I'm all out of extras......

Huge thanks for everything, as always!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.