A pint a day .......

I signed up to the online "a year with my camera" course at the start of the year. It's been a really busy year and I am now months behind, so am starting again.

But, this week a four week macro module starts, so I have decided to have a go. I've never attempted manual focussing before, nor have I thought about mirror locking. So I have learnt a bit today.

Thus this milk bottle. We are one of that very small minority who still have milk delivered.

When I was a youngster, in the distant past. most people had their milk delivered to their doorstep. The tops were sealed with  aluminium tops. And these were regularly pierced by blue tits drinking the cream.

In fact the whole British population of blue tits had learnt this skill.The cream at the top of pints of milk was full of energy.

But no blue tit pieces bottle tops now, the skill has completely disappeared. 

The reason is simple. The birds do not make the enzyme to break down lactose, so they suffer diarrhoea. Most people now drink skimmed and semi skimmed milk, with no cream at the top (the cream does not contain lactose). So not something blue tits would want. Even if more people had their milk delivered by their local milkman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.