Water, Water Everywhere - Fyns Hoved, Denmark

Have I mentioned how much I love Denmark?? Although this trip was mostly about Sweden, I am so glad I have also spent 3 days in this beautiful country.

This blip DEFINITELY requires a look at the extra photos!

If you read yesterday's blip you will see that I ended up in a beautiful spot - Fyns Hoved on the Hindsholm peninsula on Fyn island - the middle section of Denmark (See first Extra photo). The campsite is on the east side of the peninsula, overlooking a little rocky beach, so I got up super early and made my way down there. I watched the sunrise, a fisherman go out in his boat, and a few early swimmers (skinny-dippers!!) step off the pier and into the water. I then made a small picnic breakfast and enjoyed that while overlooking the water. (See second Extra photo)

I left the campsite and decided to head back to the area where I had been last night to see the sunset, and I had a beautiful circular walk around the top of the peninsula. It was a warm sunny day and there was water everywhere I looked - 360 degrees of beauty. This area is known to be drier than much of the rest of Denmark and so it had a very Mediterranean feel. There were lots of other people out enjoying the day, but it certainly wasn't crowded. (See third Extra photo for more views)

Through the years the area has been a favourite of artists and there was an unusual exhibit along the trail, showing various views of the landscape they were painting. (See fourth Extra photo)

I did the circular walk and a couple of side paths, looked for 3 geocaches (only found 2), enjoyed the sunshine and clean air, and had a very difficult time pulling myself away from all this beauty. But I had to - I was aiming for a camping place near the German border, ready for driving through Germany tomorrow. So I finally got on the road and headed south, about a 3 hr drive. I got to the campsite at about 7pm, quickly got settled and then ended up on ANOTHER beach! (See fifth Extra photo)

This beach was a revisit of one where Dolly and I had spent some time last year on our journey south. It's a beautiful setting overlooking Flensborg Fjord (or Flensburger Förde), an inlet from the Baltic Sea. The setting is peaceful, with a view of Germany across the water - a perfect place for a late picnic and a sunset. I was missing Dolly of course - we spent 2 days here last year and enjoyed 3 visits to this quiet little beach. So the visit was bittersweet, but a perfect ending to an incredibly beautiful day in Denmark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.