Goodbye, Denmark!

I tried to leave the campsite promptly this morning, so that I could have a last picnic in Denmark - on the beach of course! - before spending a day on the German autobahn. It's very handy having a campervan so that I can make coffee and toast right there! It was a beautiful morning and again it was hard to pull myself away! I remembered happy times here last summer as Dolly and I also enjoyed a visit to the beach before we crossed the border into Germany - just about 3km away.

The idea of driving through Germany on a Sunday was a very strategic move on my part, since, with few exceptions, trucks are not allowed on the German highways on Sundays. It had made a huge difference on the drive north. Today was not quite as easy as when we drove north, as there are still a lot of major road works on the southbound lanes, but not having to compete with trucks on the reduced lanes was a huge advantage (and a huge improvement from my horrible day last year!) I drove south past Hamburg and west past Bremen, hardly making any stops, but the journey still took almost 6 hours - much longer than the Sat Nav/GPS predicted. I made it to Holland safely, though, and I was able to get into the same lovely campsite where we had stayed on our way north at the end of July. It was almost empty this time, since the children are back in school, and I was able to pick the same pitch. The campsite is in a forest and now there was purple heather everywhere. So beautiful. (See Extra photo)

I enjoyed a peaceful evening, making my own simple supper and enjoying a walk around the whole site. This will be my last night sleeping in the campervan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.