Mixing & Fixing

This evening I was due to go to a social evening with my new housegroup from church and I decided to mix up a cake to take with me. I love making banana loaves but I wanted to try something new - a banana peanut butter loaf - as I’d had something similar the other day and it was delicious.

Right in the middle of it my friend Rhod came over. I had asked him to come. He deals with used appliances and he was willing to loan me one of his dryers while I wait the month or so that it will take for my new dryer to come back into stock. However, once he got the ‘broken’ one out into the driveway and tested it out he discovered it wasn’t actually broken. There was a problem with the vent and the hose - totally wrong for the job! We made a quick trip to Screwfix and bought a more appropriate hose and vent (for the grand sum of £4.50). Back at home we opened up the machine and gave it a good clean and then he got it all hooked back up again. I am back in business! I’m still hoping to replace it with a brand new one to match the new washing machine, but hopefully this one will last for another few weeks! What a good friend Rhod is!

I rewarded him with cups of tea and a quick dinner of leftovers (he’s not fussy) and then left - with the cake - to meet my friends. Sadly, I was very disappointed with the cake. I should know better to experiment with something new when I’m going to a social. Fortunately there was plenty of other good food there. It will be back to my trusted recipe next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.