The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Center Ring

If you agree that a horse is a magnificent gift to this earth, perhaps you will agree that it is never more magnificent than when it interacts with mankind.

At lunch today, I escaped from my office and traveled to the Warner Coliseum. It is there that the Midwest Arabian Championships will be held this coming weekend. Shortly after I arrived and had visited the organizers office, I was beckoned by the sound of trots across soft sand. So, I followed the animal timpani and entered the main show ring. What greeted me there was magical. Only the center torches were on and not to full intensity. Yet the dim light enhanced the drama of the scene. I forgot about rushing back to the office, I sat down and I stared.

To see these animals perform at all simply gives me goose bumps. But to be sitting as the only spectator in a dimly lit and moody coliseum, and to watch the command this young and talented woman had over her mare, well, that just took my breath away.

Friday, the day before Saturday.....Enjoy!

I tried to do the emotion of this scene justice with my image but I fell very short of my desires (but it may be a bit bettered in large). In any event, it was a special and unexpected moment and I want to share it with you.


And I also want to thank you for your visits today. I keep trying this mono thing through trial and error.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.