The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Candy Canes from Above

My plans of going to the horse show with my family today were upended by an unexpected business trip to the northern part of that state. It was not what I expected of the day but I tried to make the best of it so I left early and decided to fly a bit lower and slower than usual. I had promised NatureLover a blip of the fall trees from the air this weekend, if time and weather permitted. Weather was not an issue so I made the time.

As I descended into my destination, I saw this hillside with a stand of brilliantly colored Sugar Maples and Birch and Balsam tress badly shouting to me for a fly over. So I slowed my speed to about 120 mph and tipped my wings 45 degrees to make a 360 degree circle and, then, stuck my camera lens out the document window in the pilot's canopy and blipped the result. When I landed the locals told me that the area I circled is called Sugar Hill. Now I know why because it was as sweet as could be.

When I was young, my September and October desires revolved around the colored leaves falling quickly from the trees so that my father could continually rake them into a pile and I could, in turn, destroy them repeatedly with my energetic jumps. But, now that I am older, I find myself rooting for these leaves not to fall. This season of autumn is the cherry on top of our summer sundae.

Please see this image in large as it lacks detail in small. I think it is worth the click.

You may notice that the EXIF data is a bit strange for a landscape. But, higher ISO and shutter speeds are necessary when you are shooting from a fast moving and vibrating small piston airplane, especially within 2,000 feet of the ground. Even at this setting, it is tough to get your images crisp. Perhaps F 6 or 8 would have done better but at this point I was worried about landing the plane..

Have a great Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.