Mr and Mrs

Some of the waxeyes have moved on, probably to their breeding territories. The flock of about 12 still come a couple of times a day, mostly for the fat. I no longer see 25 or so in the plum tree at one time. When the visitors are not here there are just the resident pairs. One of the males has begun singing, marking his territory near the big fir trees. The other couple usually nest near the house.  We’ll see.

There is plenty of nectar about. I have reduced by two-thirds the quantity of sugar water I provide, and it is more diluted than before. While it is so cold I’ll keep on providing fat.

Today was another cold one. More snow fell on the mountains and foothills overnight. I’m getting through as much firewood as I did during the worst of the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.