The sad pope

Benedict didn't have a good night and nor did I. He had diarrhoea and with his cat door locked he went to his dirt box. But he found his dirt box wanting so returned to the spot where he had a mishap on Saturday morning.

That just happens to be a large cream wool rug. While I'd cleaned it and it smelled fine to me, he identified it as an alternative toilet :-(

Mummy (aka hpx) figured this out just a bit too late and he was well underway so to speak. He's an inside boy at night but I unlocked his cat door and let him out just in case he wasn't finished, and I dealt with the cream rug at 2am :-/

I was woken by cat howls and when I opened my window he was facing off with a black and white cat. Benedict wasn't interested in coming in the window so I closed it.

Of course the set too came next followed by the pope through the cat door. He jumped up on the bed and cuddled up beside me. I could tell he was stressed.

He isn't in good shape today. A bite on the head, another at the base of the tail, a smack on the nose (you can see it's swollen), and a very sad look that tells me he's feeling sorry for himself. He's been to the vet and has an array of goodies - antibiotic injection, probiotics I'll have fun squirting in his mouth for the next couple of days, and several days worth of special sensitive food.

Tomorrow I'll drop off the cream rug at a dry cleaners who can wash and treat it so it's not confused with a toilet :-/

Meanwhile the dirt box hopefully has the required amount of pellets to feel right (hopefully).

If you ever have the urge to feed someone else's cat, just don't.

Today's gratitude: Medical science. Benedict and I have both benefited from it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.