Molly waits her turn...

Dear Diary,

I have had a pair of mourning doves visiting all summer.  I named them Molly and Malcolm.  About a week of so ago I noticed that one of them was gone.  Now, honestly, I can't tell if it is Molly or Malcolm that disappeared so I just call the lone dove, Molly.  It is so sad to see her by herself.  Mourning doves mate for life and it can be a long life too.  A banded dove  was found once that was 30 years old!  I do hope Molly finds another mate although I haven't heard the call lately.  Only males make the soulful cry so maybe I am right in assuming this is Molly.  If you follow the link to hear the sound of their call, also listen to the "wing whistle", very distinct.

Mourning doves are ground feeders but occasionally Molly will eat from the bowl.  She had to wait until Philly was done though.  She is very polite and patient.  I hope Wooly Bear was right yesterday and it will be a mild winter since the doves hang around all year.  I could use a mild winter as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.