Hurdles - Remembering 9/11

Dear Diary,

Today is an infamous anniversary, the 15th anniversary of the terrorist attacks of September 11th.  During Karen's visit she mentioned recently finding a copy of the Boston Globe newspaper with its frightful front page.  I too saved a newspaper printed that day. (extra)  Its yellowed paper still brought tears to my eyes.  Everyone remembers where they were when they first heard the news.  I was teaching that Tuesday and I knew in my heart as I watched the fighter jets flying overhead that from that moment on the world had changed...nothing would ever be the same.  I was right.

The image today is of a field down the road from my house.  Hurdles mark the path for horses to jump.  I sometimes feel that we face our own hurdles in our life,  some, like 9/11, seem impossible to get over.  But we did, in the end, surmount that devastating hurdle and a gleaming new Freedom Tower stands in place of the World Trade towers.  Americans are a very resilient people.  It seems that when things are at their worse that we are at our best.

Since that day in 2001 personal hurdles seem less difficult to me.  If we were somehow able to get over that day then we can navigate just about any hurdle in our path...at least that is my great hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.