Bom

By Bom

The Night Mail

Today's Mono Monday challenge is to post a photo that gives a nod to a favourite poem - thanks to sk for hosting. I have a lot of poems that I really like, but I chose my favourite by W H Auden as he used to go to Gresham's school in Holt where I live and this is where he started writing poetry. The poem is The Night Mail, written in 1936 and read to the rhythm of a steam train. You can hear Auden reading the poem if you follow the link. I was reminded of it recently by a fellow blipper.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmciuKsBOi0
The photo is of the steam train this morning arriving at Holt on the Poppy Line. I've darkened it to reflect the 'night mail' - the steam trains here don't run at night!!! I also like that it transports you back to a time when there was no instant communication - no mobile phones, email, social media or even for most people telephones. You got information from distant family and friends by mail, delivered at speed overnight by the night mail trains. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.