The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Men at work: the dredger

Scooping mud and weeds out of the Thames and Severn canal (now known as the Cotswold Canal) near Brinscombe, Stroud. The regeneration of the canal is ongoing.

I walked to work at the rehab, because the bus timetable has changed again. As I am now getting there from home, it's the most convenient way to get there. I realised that it's so long since I walked there that I'd almost forgotten which exit footpath of the canal was mine! On the towpath side, the canal is bordered by a continuous string of industrial estates, usually centred around old mill buildings. They all look quite similar. Fortunately I got off at mine, Hope Mills, and arrived just on time.

I've added a bit of HD processing to this shot. Also recently noticed that I have a 'men at work' series, and my sister TML has 'people at work'. Can you tell that we were brought up on the Ladybird books? Tanya quite liked the factual series such as 'people at work' whereas I preferred the more kitsch ones with rhyming stories about naughty anthropomorphic kittens and greedy ducks! They always got their just desserts, 1950s-60s style, but a happy ending was obligatory. Both Tanya and I enjoyed the 'well known tales' aka fairy tales. Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, etc, were prime examples. As one who works in nursery now, I can vouch that these tales are not so well known now. I feel sad about this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.