Ben's Lens

By benslens

Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes

My last back-blip, this photo was taken before our afternoon trip back down to the city to catch a plane back home on Sept. 8. We stopped on the campus of Mt. Saint Mary's University in Emmitsburg, Maryland to walk the grotto, but mostly to hear the carillon celebrate the hour. (One of my nephews is crazy about clocks and their chimes.)  Apparently the first canonized native born American, Elizabeth Ann Seton, lived here. Anyway, this is not the picture of the grotto (though I have one of those elsewhere). Rather, this was a quiet meditation area filled by a natural spring we found on the way back. It was quite lovely and it is always interesting to me to see how others' faith is expressed. The statue is the Lady of Lourdes, not St. Seton. 

I had meetings all day at the university getting ready for fall quarter. My photo days are numbered for a while -- time to earn my keep again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.