SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Mono Monday - poem

I imagine that most of us posting a nod to a favourite poem or line from a poem today, will have some attachment, memory or perhaps deeper meaning to their choice.  For me, this poem that JRR Tolkien wrote for The Lord of the Rings, was of great comfort to me during a difficult season in my life.  Specifically the line, ”not all those who wander are lost".  So much so, that in April 2013, I chose to have it permanently imprinted on my right calf where it serves as a reminder of new paths since journeyed.  The script is Sindarin which is a fictional elvish language devised by Tolkien.  

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.
~J. R. R. Tolkien

Big thanks to SK for hosting this month.  I am loving the ‘favourite’ themed challenges!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.