MerlinJ

By MerlinJ

Laugh at or learn from

I'm finding that the blipping discipline means that I'm noticing things I hadn't noticed before, like spotting the moment that the sun comes out, however briefly, on an otherwise cloudy, rainy day. Luckily the sun lasted long enough for me to stop work, get the dog and the camera phone and run outside. I watched the next swathe of grey clouds approaching even as I looked for a blipping opportunity.

Round the back of the shed there's a pile of old wire and the rose-bay willow herb has been growing up through it. I liked the way the curves of the seed-pods echo the lines of the wire. I had to hold the phone near the ground and point it to the sky so that the shapes would show up, rather than have trees or shed cluttering up the background. I took about 6 shots randomly, unable to see what was in the viewfinder, but on the whole I'm quite pleased with this one.

I also like the idea that I can get pleasing blips from unpromising subjects. This is very much how I look at life and work in general - that anything at all can present some benefit, whether it's something to laugh at, or something to learn from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.