Cicadas and flags

A photo of part of my current fridge magnet collection – these actually being on the fridge! I took the photo as I added two brought back from the Outer Hebrides – the two top right. One is obviously a typical Hebridean painting, the flag is an interesting one.
 
I had quite a conversation the lady at the Kildonan Museum on South Uist, as she was keen to tell about the fact that South Uist and Eriskay now have an officially recognised community flag. The design reflects the isalnd’s Norse connection and is a Nordic cross. There was apparently quite a campaign to get it recognised and this eventually happened at the South Uist Games in July this year. The flag flies in a number of places.
 
The other magnets are ones collected at various places and recent exhibitions. I wonder how many people recognise – some are obvious, some are not. (apologies for the reflections - a very tricky photo to take.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.