New outfits

Just finishing off a set of clothes for ‘the dolls’, so I can send them off to the grandchildren before we go away.

When the girls were here in the summer I let them loose on my huge collection of oddments of wool, collected over a lifetime of knitting. They chose the balls they liked (it took a long time!) and made me a list of what to make. You can guess their favourite colours – pink, green and purple. The purple lady’s doll apparently only needed shoes, so I am just knitting those – hard to knit on two thick needles after so much knitting on four tiny needles.
 
I am especially pleased with the turtle dress. This was designed by the ‘Turtle Girl’, who knows so much about turtles and drew them as Sea Turtles. I hope these meet her specifications – it took me ages to design on squared paper and then I had to learn Duplicate Stitch, which is effectively embroidering over the top of the knitted stitches. It’s apparently very helpful to learn some new skills as you get older!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.