Church Road

I received a call from my mother, early today, asking me to go across and help sort out her ‘paperwork’.  Somehow we came across the old dog licence for Sparky and, incredible as it may be, coupons for sweet rationing with my name on.  And petrol coupons.  To say it was like a rat’s maze is an understatement.  After wading through it all morning I may seek canonisation.

She then asked if I’d like her to buy me lunch.

Après lunch, arriving at Creel HQ, she then asked if I’d lift and boil her some beetroot.  I gave her the crossword and headed to the tunnel.  There was little light at the end of it.

I’d like to think that there were thousands of streets in the UK that were as gently lit as Church Road was this morning.  It’s good to note the Orphir Hills in the distance.  I don’t think I’ll ever meet the eleven year old me walking through the peat hags.  However it did happen for Laurie Lee in ‘Cider with Rosie’.

I blame it on all that time I spent watching the Hot Chestnut man with Grandad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.