Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Woolly Bear

Originally I thought my luck was in! Saw this amazingly colourful caterpillar with brilliant orange markings - however on accidentally knocking the leaf ....oops.......having a tangled-up tripod leg, he rolled up and off into the long grass and nettles. Could I find him.........? No!! Nettled hands? Cross with myself ? Yes, I should say so! After searching in vain; (he obviously didn't want my horrendous cold so couldn't blame him) I had to get over it and move on!

Woolly no.2 was on the nettle leaf and not very large as you can see. We used to call these caterpillars when I was a kid in Yorkshire 'Woolly Boys' or 'Woolly Bears' and I am happy sticking to that! In fact I am going to have to, as am a bit unsure as to what he actually will metamorphosize into! I have looked up his identity and the best I can come up with is a Virbia Aurantiaca a Holomelina moth. The doubt being that they are supposed to be in North America. They do resemble the small beige moths I in the field that used to sit facing upwards on the grass stems and as that is where I found him, I think it is a strong possibility. I would welcome any suggestion from caterpillar buffs out there!!!

Thank you for all the lovely comments, hearts and stars for my 'Bee in rose' yesterday!! Cheered me up today!

Better large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.