Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Hüsker Dü? (Do You Remember?)

I thought this doe-eyed-mop-top had the look of a young Paul McCartney about him!

But I'm not going to link to one of Paul’s songs on this occasion… because I was saddened to learn today of the death of the musician Grant Hart. He was only 56 years old.

Hart was, most famously, the drummer - and one of two great songwriters (the other being Bob Mould) - with the hugely influential Minnesota band, Hüsker Dü. I suspect it was Goatee who first got me into them!

The band ploughed their furrow from 1979 to 1988, blending post-punk/pre-grunge hardcore sounds with melodic pop and folk-like tunes and, after their implosion, Hart went on to form Nova Mob and then to pursue a solo career.

Here's one of my favourite of Hart’s songs from the Hüsker Dü years, ‘She Floated Away’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2fjD8ViSM8

And here's ‘Is The Sky The Limit?’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4xKJm292DQ from his final solo album, ‘The Argument’, a concept album inspired by Milton’s ‘Paradise Lost’.

What more fitting tribute could there be?


Is the sky the limit?
What is the apogee?
Is the sky the limit, for me?

I only mean to love you
For you to notice me
Now I dread how limited I can be

Radiate
Radiate away

Leviathans and Chimeras
Hydras below the sea
They come between me and where I want to be

From the sky I've fallen
To suffer and to burn
It is to the sky that I shall return

Radiate
Radiate away


I'm going to be away for a few days on an exciting photographic adventure… I'll catch up with you all next week! Take care, one and all. X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.