Today's Special

By Connections

Civilized Seating

Back blip (September 11)

We had a four-hour layover in the Charlotte, North Carolina airport on our long journey home. It's a big airport, with five concourses, serving more than 100,000 passengers daily.

Our wait was made much more tolerable when I discovered the center atrium, with plenty of natural light and about thirty large, white rocking chairs, among other amenities. Phil and I were fortunate to spot two about to be vacated, and quickly settled into the evocative seating. I took great comfort in the gentle motion of my chair, which took me back to my childhood. 

Here I am, iPad mini in hand, luggage by my side -- what would my Virginia born-and-raised grandmother have thought of this?

I'll return to this airport in mid-October -- and hope to be caught up with my blips well before then!

Blip 1862

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.