Basking

This morning the outdoor temperature was 15ºC at 6.30. The day got much warmer, even though the sunshine was patchy. For once the nor’wester was warm. I saw a brilliant red admiral butterfly that was struggling in the wind, but lost track of it before I could get my camera.

There seemed to be lizards everywhere. As I walked I saw quick flickers in the grass that told me where they were. I stood still by some stones and waited. Sure enough one slid out from a small gap close by. When it reached a point where its tail almost cleared the entry to its lair it quickly turned back on itself, ready to dart back in.

This one is intact. Many I saw today had lost their tails, and not recently. I wonder how that happened if they were hibernating.

I have spent two days gardening and I’m a bit stiff, but it’s worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.