The Twenty Seven Steps

These steps from King's Stables Road to Castle Terrace are a work out in themselves, but one I didn't chose to follow this morning as I negotiated a new route into town avoiding the many autumn tourists stravaiging the streets, and the arrival of the students wide eyed with the wonder of it all.

The drawback, if there is one and it certainly isn't the mileage which is precisely 1Km door to the West End, is the rather dubious part of the route through the tunnel between the Grassmarket and the foot of Lothian Road. It reminds me of some of the places described in Ian Rankin's crime books. I certainly would not want to walk this route at night.

Speaking of night, my choice of book, Hot Milk by Deborah Levy was roundly condemned by everyone at the book group last night, save me and one other.
Oh well, you win some, you lose some but at least we had an unusually long discussion about it, and Anne's plum cake was worth every second of opprobrium sounded on behalf of this book which had been short listed book for an earlier Booker Prize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.