A stream of compassion

Several groups of Buddhists, including the one I'm working with, joined together Thursday to circumambulate the ICE Building (where those immigrants being rounded up are detained until they can be sent elsewhere). Extras include one of the signs, declaring that ICE destroys families; and a long shot of the whole group as they gathered at the end of the procedure to express gratitude to each other.

I am sorry I am absent right now from Blip. I will continue to post when I can, but much of my time is being consumed by the work of creating solidarity, building connections between people who resist each other so that we can work together. 

Do me a favor, if you can find the time. I'd like everyone who reads my journal to read this article, which I linked a couple of blips ago. My goal right now is to build bridges between advocates of pure nonviolence and advocates of justice "by any means possible." That article expresses what I am working for. It's where my time is going right now. I question my views and opinions, my sense of what is right and what is wrong. Given a deep passion for justice, what actions contribute most effectively to justice in the context of a State based in violence? I don't know the answer. But I am in the question, and I do think we need each other, all of us who want justice, even if we disagree about what it means to be nonviolent in the face of a violent State. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.