SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Flower Friday

A few times over the summer I’ve walked to a community garden that’s adjacent to a church called Highland Community.  I did a bit of research this morning into the history and purpose of the garden.  What I hadn’t known was that the garden is in the shape of a labyrinth and houses approximately 50 garden plots along with several benches and a beautiful vined arbour in the centre.  It’s really lovely and whenever I’m there, it feels peaceful.  

According to the website the purpose of the garden is fivefold. 

To produce food for use by community garden participants and local non-profit organizations.
To function as an educational demonstration plot for the community.
To enhance the attractiveness of the local community
To create a landscape for the enjoyment of gardeners and local residents.
To provide a place of harmony with the natural and spiritual world.

As I entered the labyrinth garden today I smiled as I thought of new blip friends made that live in the Highlands. 

Wishing you all a wonderful weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.