Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Pure Fantasy

It's not very often that I go to bed on a Thursday night knowing exactly what I will photograph on Friday and write about on Saturday, but that is exactly what happened this week. The above photograph is what I propose to wear at a fantasy blipmeet at The Head Of The River in Oxford to include at least Arachne, Whisky Foxtrot, SaraEvans and myself but also anybody who would care to join us appropriately attired. Yes I tried my hardest with furniture and lighting too.

Does this place serve Gin & Tonic by the jugful and would everybody be OK with that? I just happen to really fancy that kind of an afternoon!


But even if I do have a Blip planned in advance I don't then expect anything quite as beautiful as this to fall right into my lap. This was the first email I opened on Friday morning. I have included my response :-)

Enquiry
Hi
My name is ***** from ******* badminton club.
We have just organised and run our first charitable badminton tournament which proved to be a huge success with several badminton clubs taking part.
We had such a successful event raising in total £416.51.
We are looking at doing another event next year around April time ( another badminton tournament ).Raising money for the Ms trust this time around.
We are look looking at holding an all day event with competing teams from the *****shire badminton league and surrounding areas.
A raffle will be held with prizes donated to us from a range of companies.
Would you be willing to donate a short break away at all please.
Look forward to hearing back from you.
Many thanks again.

Response
Hi,
Many thanks for your enquiry. Let me get this straight; several badminton clubs between them managed to raise a little over four hundred pounds for charity.
You are asking me to donate a holiday that would be unlikely to be worth less than one thousand pounds. How much would you sell the raffle tickets for?
How about we try this another way around, you persuade members of your badminton clubs to book holidays at our cottage and we will think about donating something to your chosen charity. Does that sound workable?
Very best wishes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.