The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Autumn signs

Mid-September and the days and evenings are cooling. These last few days and nights skeins of pink-footed geese with their chattering, yelping calls have been flying overhead, heading south on their migration from Iceland. The leaves of the sycamore  here in the Beechwood Nature Reserve are beginning to lose their green chlorophyll.  When the clouds clear and the sun shines, it is lower in the sky and the slanting light has a softer quality that backlights the late flowers of Japanese anemones in our garden.

The estuary was still for our Friday evening walk with Gus, after sunset the partial arc of a broad rainbow was reflected (see extra), yet there seemed to be no rain in the air at that moment and the sun was below the level of the hills beyond the opposite shore of the Kent. A beautiful way to end the day.

My first blip for nearly two weeks, though I may yet fill one or two gaps. Thank you for all the kind words, stars and hearts for the last one which was posted the day after my last treatment. Since then I have managed to stay clear of infections while keeping up and gradually extending my walks with Gus over the Knott in the mornings. I have more energy and am feeling better than I was before the treatment started.  There is still a way to go but the progress is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.