The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Clawthorpe

A clear night and early morning when the ground is still wet from rain makes for a misty dawn that's worth getting up and out for. My returning energy is making early morning trudges up the Knott easier, as is the later time of sunrise as we close in on the equinox (still a bit too early to manage the sunrise at the moment, though). This was a herald to one of those perfect September days, warm enough for shirt sleeves, with blue skies and puffy white clouds. The view is east from the Knott over wooded Slackhead towards Clawthrope Fell and its distinctively notched profile.

It's nearly three months since there was a Gus blip, so I've included an extra of him in the misty woods as we headed home after the morning walk. He's been great company during my period of relative isolation, and I guess he's happier for being at home rather than cooped up in the back of the car while I'm at work. There's also an extra of Arnside Tower wreathed in mist as seen from the lofty viewpoint of the top of the Knott looking south.

I'm making good progress over two weeks on from the last treatment. The blood results are encouraging, full recovery will take months but I am already feeling so much better than I have for a long time. Thank you for all the supportive comments over the last couple of months of (very) occasional blips, they have been so encouraging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.