A very, very tiny visitor

Dear Diary,

My asters are just starting to bloom.  I really like the way the buds look just before they open.  I discovered that a very, very tiny bee was enjoying the flowers as well.  Seeing that the yellow center of the aster is less than 1/2 inch across, you can see how very tiny this little visitor is. 

If you enlarge the photograph you can see what huge eyes it has.  Perhaps you need extra good vision when you are this small.  Now, I am not sure if this is a true bee or if it is some other flying friend but I was just enchanted by it's diminutive size.  My big Bubble Bees would dwarf it.  I will have to do a bit of research to find out what it might be.

I am off this morning to a workshop at the Shaker Village.  It is a follow up to the eco-printing class in June.  We will be learning some embroidery techniques to enhance the printed fabric.  I am sure my needle skills are a bit rusty but I will channel my grandmother and hope for the best!  I just looked at my post from last year on this day and it was one of my grandmothers stitchery sampler!  Now that is quite the coincidence!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.