The Holy Island of Lindisfarne

Dear Diary,

Well, I can cross this one off my bucket list! I arrived on Lindisfarne around 1:30pm. I can’t say enough about the ScotRail trainline. They were amazing. Katherine called them in the morning telling them about my predicament and they met me at the train station, took my bag, got my ticket and helped me onto the train and to my seat. They then called ahead to be sure there would be someone to meet me when I had to change trains in Edinburgh. I really must write a letter to them when I get home.

I didn’t walk around too much but wanted to share this view of the priory and the castle. There is also an archeological dig here just now, being carried out by Durham University. They are excavating a site of an ancient graveyard and have uncovered the remains of a man from the 8th century. This is just before the Viking raids. (Extra). Hopefully, more of a walk-about tomorrow.

Wifi isn’t good here so it has taken me all evening to post this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.