a town called E.

By Eej

Perspective

I have a two way relationship with zoos; I like them for their efforts in conservation, I dislike them for having animals in cages. Binder Park Zoo, exactly 40 highway exits from here, does well for me though. While they certainly have their share of animals in cages that seem to small (to me), they also have a massive Africa exhibit where giraffe, zebra, ostrich and gazelle roam free. Not only that - you can FEED the giraffe. If they volunteer to come close enough to let you.
It's a brilliant set-up - you will never look at a giraffe the same way once you've seen that 12 inch tongue curl towards you your piece of lettuce. And they make you pay handsomely for the lettuce, and nobody cares.
Again, brilliant.

Tough to choose today, as I very much fell in love with the prairie dogs, the red panda, the lemurs, the (orphaned - awwwwwwww!) black bear cubs - and the massive chipmunk population.

More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.