All Dressed Up

Today was the first day of the 1940's weekend in Holt and Sheringham (the Poppy Line with steam trains runs between the two towns). As the weather forecast for today was rain all day, with tomorrow only showers, G, M and I decided to go out tomorrow. G and I needed shopping in town so took our cameras in first thing before the rain was due to start. Although early, there were plenty of people dressed up for the event and the free vintage bus was already running. All the shops are also 'dressed up' as are quite a lot of the shopkeepers, including lots of land girls in the independent department store Bakers & Larners. Shops also had forties music playing or wartime news broadcasts. It was so good to see the whole town pulling together. I feel bad now that I forgot to get myself a land girl outfit before going on holiday, but I will rectify that for next year. Everyone I asked was ok with me taking their photo and I've chosen to use them in a postcard as I didn't want to miss anyone out as they'd gone to so much effort.

Of course, apart from a couple of short showers it's been dry all day with intermittent sunshine!!! Let's hope that rain doesn't appear tomorrow!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.