Reikes small life...

By Reike

A little adventurous walk

I was a bit lazy in the morning, so we decided to only go for a "little walk", aiming for a hiking path that we didn't do so far. Turned out three hours and a bit of an adventure.
Only 600 height meters upwards, but my, that was steep upwards! So much sweat! Then it turned out to be very challenging for my fear of heights. Narrow path in the woods with a drop down to the right just beside it. Look at the picture and the chunk of rock on the right - see where the forest line on the top is? That was exactly where we were walking. 
All very fine, I thought, if I just walk carefully and calm, it is no problem, then I felt the panic attack coming. So much about walking calmly! I thought, then remembered my breathing exercises, and I did breathe, breathe, breathe! Got through it OK, managing to turn the approaching attack down. Puuuuuuhhhh! 
Later then one of my hiking poles went flying down the mountain when I took a picture. I shouted after it - oh no no, no! I am so stupid! (It has cost me 135 CHF some years back!), and then realized what I did. Djeili did not have a nice puppyhood and had been beaten when young, and this became apparent now. Due to my frantic shouting, she panicked. She thought she is in for a good beating now, and she totally freaked. It took us ages to calm her down, and she staid stressed for a long time afterwards. You cannot imagine what she was like. I am afraid that her tummy has a bit soured up again due to her being stressed. We already gave her medication  and I hope she is gonna be OK tonight. 

Teaches me to remember how sensitive and fragile she is. No more shouting when she is around, unless I have a very good reason! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.