Harris Tweed patch-up

Over the past couple of years I have heard of several households in Edinburgh suffering from problems with moths. We have witnessed attacks chez hazelh, despite using moth-killer in wardrobes and drawers.

Amongst recent casualties have been a cashmere scarf (kept in the porch), a grey cashmere cardigan (left out on a chair in the bedroom), my home-made Harris Tweed tea-cosy (on the kitchen worktop), and our Harris Tweed pouffe (on the floor of the sitting room). They have all succumbed due to their distance from moth-killer. The holes in the scarf are barely visible so I can live with them. I put the cardigan in the bin yesterday. This morning I patched up both Harris Tweed items (one blipped). It helps that the pouffe is a patchwork :-)

I have also been busy blogging today. A post about activities on Ada Lovelace Day on 10th October is already live (I am hoping local school teachers will see it and bring some pupils to our workshops and the lecture), and I have two more that will be made public next week.

I took my bike out again for another ride this afternoon. We intended to loop Arthur's Seat twice, but sections of the park were closed off for the Kiltwalk. Instead we tackled the difficult climb once, then took a long route home via the Meadows, Harrison Park, and the cycle path towards Leith.

There were many kiltwalkers on the last section, some of whom looked somewhat exhausted and inattentive, alongside others in rather unsuitable footwear for a long walk. This meant that we had to cycle slowly and with care rather than race along the last part of the route home.

Exercise today: 12+ miles of solo cycling. Xii.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.