RosInAus

By RosInAus

A Wild Sort Of Day

There were strong winds in the night and when I walked around Mary Cairncross Nature Reserve at 7am there were branches down and even an uprooted tree. But I did get to blip this little Pandemelon, a marsupial related to kangaroos and wallabies though much smaller.

After that I drove to the library in Maleny and walked through its little park, almost stepping on a long, pencil-thin snake - I think a young Tree Snake. Through that park, two minutes later I was walking alongside the Obi Obi river where rain-forest trees and plants are preserved, when I came face-to-face with a big, black snake. I froze. It froze. I could barely blip for camera shake. I took 2 pics then sidled past it and scurried off as fast as possible.

At home on the internet I discovered that this black snake with an orangey under-belly and small head, 1.5 to 2 metres long is one of the following;- Golden Crown Snake, Eastern Small-eyed Snake, Red-bellied Black Snake ALL 3 highly venomous, bites can be fatal. Yikes!!

I chose the cute wild thing for the blip but if you want to see my two snakes they are in MY BLIPFOLIO.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.