Mushroom Season

Dear Diary,

This time of year I think of both my grandmothers.  The wild grapes at the end of the driveway have a very distinct smell, one of my favorite smells of autumn, and it reminds me of my mother's mother who would make grape jelly every fall.  I still remember the big jelly bag hung over the pot, slowly dripping its purple juice.  I liked to go by and give it a poke from time to time.

It is also mushroom season here in New England and that reminds me of  my father's mother.  She would gather wild mushrooms each fall and I would go with her.  She knew which ones to pick and which to leave alone.  I wish I'd taken notes!  This one was growing on the front lawn and already shows marks of being enjoyed by little ones, mice or chipmunks perhaps.

My dear Auntie made a delicious dish of mushrooms sauteed in butter and then mixed with sour cream.  It was always on her Thanksgiving table.  My house favored creamed onions...I loved them both.

Today is packing day for my trip to Ogunquit tomorrow.  It looks like Hurricane Jose will stay far east and we will get only some rain but the seas will likely be dramatic so I am looking forward to that.  Emerson is off this afternoon to his "holiday camp" for a week.  He loves being there but not going there.  Not the best traveler is my little boy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.