Mono Monday - Memory

I don't wear a wrist watch; haven't worn one for more than a decade, after a retreat one year when it seemed all so definite in a world of limitless possibility... and let's be fair, we've all got a smartphone that's probably locked to GPS accuracy.

This was my grandfathers, which he was still wearing when he passed into mystery; a 24ct gold plated Pulsar quartz. Very slim for a fella who worked his time in a Suffolk steelworks. He played violin in the steelworks band (when such things were no doubt more commonplace) and was a bit of a whizz in the klezmer jazz style. 

He and my grandmother moved across country to look after us kids, fifty years ago now, when my father died and my mum went back out to work. Miss them both intensely. Hail Ancestors. What is remembered. lives.

Memories, on a Mono Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.