Artists at Work ...

...just behind the Scuola Grande di San Rocco, Venice's temple to Tintoretto, one of its leading artists in the 16th century. It was afternoon, and I arrived at this image very  circuitously. On the way to a bank I saw the group on the bridge, facing me (perhaps a class?) from the next bridge over (on the map it's just to the right of their  bridge, which I've marked).  I was struck by their colorful outfits (a red jacket is just peeking out on the right here); as I returned a few minutes later,  they were still there and I realized what they were doing. So so I took another long shot and then went around to take closeups--from the side, from behind, and this image. As you can see, they were deep in concentration--not one of them noticed me in the slightest degree. The aura of Tintoretto?

In the morning we visited five churches around the Rialto Bridge: San Silvestro, San Giovanni Elemosinario, San Giovanni Crisostomo, San Giacomo di Rialto, and Santa Maria dei Miracoli. S.G. Crisosotomo (often spelled with a "G") has been a favorite of mine since our first stay (nearby) in 1995--it has an excellent  painting by Giovanni Bellini--my favorite Venetian artist. I've posted a extra of the church's modest interior--the Bellini is on the extreme right (very dark)  and the altarpiece on the left is by Sebastiano del Piombo. The image is a carefully crafted panorama of two shots.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.