Roasted

Today was a slow news day at home. Or at least not a day conducive to taking photos!!

It's the last day of my extended time off work (10 weeks!!) so I was mostly focused on getting my bag packed and emails read etc. In addition, I had an appointment to have my new 'Smart Meters' hooked up today.

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT: If you're going to get the new meters, make sure that ALL your gas appliances are working properly! Maybe get them serviced ahead of time. I've had some recent issues with my gas fireplace not wanting to light, and the result was that the meter installer was obligated to turn off ALL the gas supply to my house, not just that one appliance. It's early enough in the season to not have heat, but no hot water? When I'm heading back to work tomorrow? I couldn't even elect to postpone the appointment and call them back when I'd had the fire checked. He'd seen a problem and had to leave me with no gas supply. He said my only option would be to throw him off my property. But then he'd have to 'report me'. Since I'd rather go back to work than be arrested (?) I decided to let him do his job.

Thankfully, the man who comes to service my gas appliances was my knight in shining armour! I put in a desperate call to him and he kindly rearranged his schedule and came out to me later on this afternoon. He thought the whole thing was rather bizarre, reconnected my gas supply to the house, serviced my boiler and yes, declared my gas fireplace well and truly dead! He disconnected that one item and all is well and good. I could have done without that stress the day before going back to work, but my fellow crew members and passengers will be glad to know I have been able to have a hot shower before going out in public!

I was so distracted all day, the only picture I took was of a bunch of tomatoes from my garden, ready to go into the oven on a very slow roast - 80 centigrade (180F) for several hours. They are super tasty this way and will last a lot LONGER. I'm hoping to have one more batch to roast and then that will probably be the very end of them for this year. Very tasty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.